At a commemorative lunch held recently, 8 members of staff, with over 260 years of service at the School between them, were awarded Honorary Membership of the Old Ellesmerian Club.

This years Old Ellesmerian Club President, John Harvey, spoke briefly before making the  presentations to Brian Davies, a member of the Maintenance Team, Sue Hinks, Housekeeper, Chris Jones, Plumber, Anne Knowles, School Shop Manager, Ian Morris, Head Groundsman, Keith Tomkins, Assistant Catering Manager, Lydia Tabbron, Receptionist and Carol Thompson, Headmasters Secretary. Each was presented with an engraved glass plaque to commemorate the occasion.

Several former pupils of the College also attended the lunch, including Richard Morris, Chairman of the Old Ellesmerian Club, David Leftwich, Richard Thurgood, Martin Anderson, Guy Chambers, John Jewiss, Barry Keenan, Tom Latham and Paul Russell.

John Harvey commented, These individuals have all contributed significantly over their many years of service to the running of the School and supporting the day-to-day requirements of generations of pupils and their parents. During the Schools 125th Anniversary Year I was delighted that the Old Ellesmerian Club Executive Committee decided to recognise the contribution of these employees.

16th December 2009  Back to News