Further Eleven Ellesmere College Rugby Players Chosen to Represent County.

Further Eleven Ellesmere College Rugby Players Chosen to Represent County

Following the recent Shropshire rugby trails eleven players in the Under 14 county team came from Ellesmere College.

The Year 9 Ellesmere College pupils who have been selected to play for the Under 14 Shropshire team are: George Baxter, Oliver Brereton, Tom Broadhead, Ben Brooks, Michael Brown, William Goodwin, Bryn Phillips, Iwan Phillips, Jake Taylor, James Whittles and Hugh Wignall.

Colin Cawcutt, Teacher in charge of the U14 Ellesmere College squad commented, 'Great commitment and dedication has been shown by the boys, which has resulted in them playing some great rugby. Well done to all the players selected.'

Paul Goodwin, Director of Rugby at Ellesmere College added 'The School was recently delighted to learn that, from the Senior Rugby Squad, an incredible thirteen players were called up for regional representation. Now further success has been achieved in the junior teams at the Under 14 level with an amazing eleven players being selected at the recent Shropshire trials. Besides being a tremendous individual achievement for all the boys, it also ensures that the future looks very strong as this group move up the School.'

8th November 2006  Back to News